Ed om hemlös rykten

Ed Sheeran wants to clarify one thing: In the year before he became a chart-topper, he was not, in fact, homeless.

After MTV News premiered an exclusive excerpt from his book, “Ed Sheeran: A Visual Journey,” word began to spread that the “Lego House” singer “didn’t have a place to stay” from 2008 to 2010. Some fans assumed that Ed was homeless for that period of time, but the “Don’t” singer has spoken out to clarify. He just “went without a bed some nights.”

“It’s been really taken out of context in press — everyone’s saying Ed Sheeran was homeless. I never say that in the book,” he told Capital FM. “I went without a bed for some nights, that’s it. It’s just that I didn’t have a place to stay [those nights], so I slept on the Central Line and outside Buckingham Palace. That’s just what I did.”

In the book, Ed describes sleeping outside Buckingham Palace, a place that inspired his song“Homeless,” but as he explained to MTV during his documentary, “Nine Days and Nights of Ed Sheeran,” he looks back on that time of his life quite fondly.

“2009 I’d been doing it [playing gigs in London] for about four years. I lost my place to live and just started staying at friends’ that I met along the way and it was a very fun time I had a lot of fun,” he said. “I met a lot of people that [and] had a lot of experiences that an 18-year-old probably shouldn’t have, and when I didn’t have a place I would stand onstage and be like, ‘If anyone has got a couch tonight,’ and it would usually work.”

But it did get a little scary at times … especially when no one offered up a place to sleep.

“There were moments I wanted to give up,” he said. “The nights that you don’t have a couch to sleep on or you don’t have money in your pocket, or food in your stomach or a charged phone, those become the nights were you reassess your situation.”

You know what they say, though, old habits die hard. Even now that Ed is one of the biggest pop stars in the world he still, from time to time, likes to crash on his friends’ couches.

“I’m actually back in the couch-crashing days,” he said during “Live From MTV” back in June. “I finally bought a place in London but I had to really do it up because it was falling apart. So now when I’m in London, I stay around the same spots I was staying in before four years ago, so I’m back in that.”


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0